“A Tribute to Hayao Miyazaki” (Blaugust Day 19)

I just came across something I had to share. It’s been around a couple of weeks, so some of you may have seen it, but it came on a Facebook post from Kermode & Mayo’s Film Review so I’m reposting it here.

http://[vimeo%20134668506%20w=500%20h=209]%20Tribute%20to%20Hayao%20Miyazaki

It’s just over three minutes long, and is a beautiful collage of the work of one of the truly great animators, Hayao Miyazaki.

spirited away

Spirited Away. Miyazaki draws wonderful clouds.

Miyazaki could have been the subject for a “How I Got Into….” post, but (a) I can’t wait till Friday to share this and (b) I found him simply because I saw Spirited Away reviewed, rented the DVD, and when I saw it there was no going back. That was when my younger son was small, and so he grew up on Miyazaki and other Studio Ghibli films, preferring them to what Disney were putting out.

Princess Mononoke. The woodland spirits Kodama

Princess Mononoke.
The woodland spirits Kodama

More people have found Miyazaki’s films in recent years, through DVD, increased television showings, and more publicity for his cinema releases. Last year I was lucky enough to see Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke in Birmingham’s wonderful Electric Cinema, and enjoy the full cinematic beauty of his work.

At some stage I may eventually write that post I’ve been thinking about on Miyazaki’s final film (he says), The Wind Rises,  and probably more on Miyazaki and other Studio Ghibli films.

For now, if you skipped over the video, go back and watch it – it’s worth 3 ½ minutes of your life. If you already watched it, go back and watch it again and admire the beauty, vision and joy that’s in this work.

The lovely music, incidentally, is by Joe Hisaishi, whose scores have created the perfect setting for several of Miyazaki’s painterly animations.

(PS; I’m out tomorrow night, so I’ve scheduled a post for release in advance. I hope it works)

This entry was posted in Film Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “A Tribute to Hayao Miyazaki” (Blaugust Day 19)

  1. calensariel says:

    That was lovely and interesting. I’ve never hear of him, but he does beautiful animation. (I loved the score, too, btw…)

    Like

    • Really pleased you liked both the animation and the score. His stories are always fantastical, usually from Japanese folk myth (lots of nature spirits) and always utterly gorgeous to look at. The English language dubbing usually works well, too, especially on the more recent films. It’s worth checking out some of his films if you get the chance.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. katerimorton says:

    Once every couple of years, I get an unreasonable, pushy craving for Howl’s Moving Castle, and I have to watch it right then. It’s been forever since I saw Spirited Away; I’m going to look for that this weekend.

    Like

  3. koolitzable says:

    Very creative 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

