Taking Stock: Blaugust Day 24

calendarThis week is going to be difficult for blogging. That hectic social life is likely to see me out to dinner twice, then there’s a cinema trip on Wednesday to see the broadcast of Othello (as trailed here the other day), and this evening I’ve just taken time out from a game of Advanced Squad Leader with my son to jot this down (update: I wrote that paragraph, then went back to complete the game, and we’ve just finished at 11:15. It’s not a quick game, ASL). And Friday’s reserved for the weekly “How I Got Into….” post.

There’s not going to be a lot of time to develop big themes this week, and tonight I’m forced onto the defensive with an assessment of what I’ve learned over three weeks of Blaugust and several lessons of Blogging101.

  1. Doing this daily is tough sledding, and it won’t survive into Bleptember.
  2. Doing it non-daily will be fun.
  3. There are some very interesting people out there, and some less interesting ones, but you pick and choose who you follow. I’m very pleased with the new contacts I’ve made (I still have a problem with the idea of “friends” over the internet), and the threads that I’ve followed from there.
  4. I can search for tags to find things that are of interest, but the best links come from people I already follow and where we have something in common.
  5. I’ve learned quite a bit about WordPress. I can:
    1. Set my heading picture
    2. Add links to other sites
    3. Insert pictures and links to audio and video
    4. Add tags
    5. Put posts into categories
    6. Add a featured image
    7. Share on Facebook and Twitter
    8. Receive and respond to comments (for which I’m always very grateful)
    9. See the stats for my posts and get miffed when I don’t get enough visits (I can see where that might get to be a problem I if were so inclined)
    10. Create numbered lists
  6. I’ve started to understand what I want to write about, and how I want to write. There’s still a list of topics that I need to find time to write, but I don’t want to rush them out – if they are things that I think are interesting enough to be worth sharing, then I want to take the time to get the ideas clear.
  7. I think I’m beginning to find a style of writing that works for me. It’s not going to win awards, but I’m comfortable with it. I’m always open to comments and feedback.
  8. Once I stop having to think of something to write every day, I can stop writing posts about blogging.

Ok, that’s Monday in the books. On to Tuesday. See you there (if you’re still with me).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking Stock: Blaugust Day 24

  1. calensariel says:

    I think you’ll find when Blogging 101 is over you might miss the actual assignments! That sounds silly, but it’s true. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

