4 songs prompted by random words

An interesting weekly read is Fimnora’s Monday Music Medicine ShowThis week she posted four songs which contained in their title a key word she’d trailed the previous week – smooth, raunchy, hard and light – and invited readers to suggest songs that were brought to mind by those four words. So here’s my list – some came to mind straightaway, some were trickier.

Raunchy: This one was easy – Vinegar Joe, Proud to be a Honky Woman on The Old Grey Whistle Test. Elkie Brooks defines “raunchy” in this performance.

And that’s Robert Palmer on guitar and harmonies which led me to….

Smooth: Robert Palmer, She Makes My Day. We were relatively newly married, and the lyrics spoke volumes for me – “I seem to be unconditionally hers.”

Hard: On the basis of going with the first thing that came into my head, I went heavy metal, with Judas Priest Breaking the Law. I didn’t realise how long ago this was – 1980, when music video was in its infancy….and this may be one of the naffest videos I’ve ever seen. But they probably had a laugh doing it.

Light: I’m going back to Fimnora’s original idea – songs with the word in the title – as an excuse to post this video of one of my favourite groups of the ’70s, Renaissance singing Northern Lights, with the wonderful Annie Haslam singing – what a voice.

Thanks, Fim, for the prompt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 4 songs prompted by random words

  1. calensariel says:

    My goodness! She does have a lovely clear voice. Wasn’t familiar with the first two. I really thought this was the hardest one Fim’s done yet. They’re always so much fun!

    Like

    • Pleased you liked Annie Haslam’s voice. When I run out of “How I got into….” stories I’m going to have to find a way to write about other bands I’ve liked, and Renaissance will be near the top of the list.

      Like

  2. My pleasure, Howard! Loved your choices – had to go find another version of JPs Breaking the Law since it’s ‘banned’ here, or some such problem with Eagle Rock… But I remember it anyway… Saw them in the 80s in NYC. Great concert. 🙂

    Interesting to see Robert Palmer in both vids. Hadn’t hear Vinegar Joe before! Love getting new groups and songs coming into my realm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

